Archive

Archive for March 8, 2011

ABC’s Castle (TV Series) is Two Years Old! – She’s armed. He’s dangerous.

Castle TV Series Logo

Castle! An American comedy-drama, police procedural television series broadcast on ABC and produced by ABC studios. Season 1 premiered on March 9, 2009. Exactly two years ago. Season 2 premiered on September 21, 2009 and Season 3, which is still in progression, on September 20, 2010. Castle follows Richard Castle (Nathan Fillion) who after killing of the main character in his book series, Derek Storm, is in search for some kind of inspiration for his next book. Helping the NYPD on a case, he meets Detective Kate Beckett (Stana Katic) who becomes the inspiration for his new character, Nikki Heat, a tough but savvy female Detective. By pulling some strings with the Mayor, who is a huge fan of his work, he is able to shadow Det. Beckett on her cases for “research”. At least, that’s what Castle calls it. Later, Det. Beckett realizes that Castle is a useful resource in solving crimes.

            I started seeing Castle on Star World. In India, Castle Seasons 1 and 2 aired back to back after its completion in US on Star World. It was by chance that I saw the first episode, Flowers for your Grave. I was bored and half asleep, saw something new and started watching it. Mind you, I was wide-awake by the end of the episode. However, since then, I have been hooked. I have become a huge fan of Castle. It has changed my life in so many ways. It is what many people call as OCD. Hardcore Castle fans will know what it is. When I heard the news of Season 3 airing in the US, I realized it would air here only after its completion in America. I definitely couldn’t wait that long! Instead, I now see each episode online a day after it has aired in America. Even a day’s wait gets me really excited.

            Apart from Det. Beckett and Rick Castle, the other prominent characters in this series include Jon Huertas as Detective Javier Esposito, Seamus Dever as Detective Kevin Ryan, Tamala Jones as Dr. Lanie Parish (Medical Examiner), Ruben Santiago-Hudson as Captain Roy Montgomery, Molly Quinn as Alexis Castle (Castle Daughter) and Susan Sullivan as Martha Rodgers (Castle’s Mother). Seasons 1 and 2 were really interesting. This had caused a great deal of anticipation among fans for Season 3. Season 3, according to me, has lived up to the expectations. Most of the 17 episodes so far have been amazing.

            Apart from the regular crimes and cases in the series, the things that make Castle interesting include The unsolved case of Det. Beckett’s mother’s murder, the “complicated” relationship between Castle and Beckett, the father-daughter relationship between Castle and Alexis and the real world publication of Castle’s books Heat Wave & Naked Heat.

            Seven episodes remain in Season 3. I hope that they will be as good as the ones before if not better. My favorite episodes have been 3XK, the two part ones (Setup and Countdown) and Last Call. I have always been fascinated by the tavern culture in America. Having read about the speakeasies and rumrunners, I liked Last Call a lot. I wrote the short story, Night Dawns on You after seeing Last Call.

            On the second anniversary of Castle, I wanted to write about a show that I liked so much. A show that changed my life a lot. In the end, all I could manage was a short write up on the show. It was after seeing Castle that I started to write. Even if it is still only a pastime or hobby. However, when it came to expressing how much I liked the show, I just couldn’t pen it down. On January10, 2011, Castle was renewed for a fourth season. That made my day! :-) I hope there will many more seasons of Castle.

Interested Castle fans can take the poll below. Do select the best episode of Season 3. The one that you liked the most. This poll is just for fun. I wanted to see which is the most popular Castle Episode in Season 3. All you people can click on View Results to see how it stands. Come on Castle fans! Vote!! Thanks in advance, for taking the Poll people!

For catching up with me, do check out my twitter page. Just a click away! I just love to meet new people!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 355 other followers

